Honor Month to Loki

I read a post that I still can’t quite grasp, about an organisation banning Loki from public rituals. There seems to be a lot of blurring about the issue, and yet, even if it is not properly said but implied, I find it shameful. Since when do you choose to restrict a cultural and spiritual pantheon to only a fraction of deities ? To say some are not worthy or else to be worshipped ? Being a very strong polytheist, I just can’t fathom the idea. It sounds far to Christian to me, to judge that a God is “bad” and should be shut down / banned.

Anyway, I’m getting away from my post. Galina Krasskova established for herself and all those that it pleases an Honor Month to Loki this July. I think it is a good idea, and I am going to try to follow it.

– to meditate on this very special family, to which I am attached by my strong connexion to Jormungandr

– to meditate on Loki himself, try to feel by myself now that I’ve read so many others speak about him

– see if there is anything I can do to honor him, and it seems I have an online friend who  could need my help on this matter

It sounds so interesting to go look for myself into the mysteries of a God I never approached directely. Plus, recently Northern deities are so strongly present in my life (Odin, Jormungandr, Mimir, …) so it must be a good timing.

7 comments on “Honor Month to Loki

  1. Darkamber says:

    There is this baffling phenomenon of hate against Loki and His followers in the USA.
    Seems to me that too many heathens haven’t been able to let go of the Christian dichotomy of good and evil. There just *has* to be a “bad guy”, and Loki got the role…

    • Yes but I’m so shocked by the phenomenon ! I really don’t understand why… Who says such stupid things about Kali or else ? It is beyond me…

      • Darkamber says:

        Perhaps it might have something to do with USA being a far less secular country than European countries (most of them)? They have greater problems getting out of the Christian paradigm with black/white, evil/good.

        • Oh trust me, France is a shitty place for that too😉 And it is really tricky since most people think themselves as atheists or anti-christians ! But they don’t realise all that they absorbed…. unconsciously. It has vicious effects. So same problem can be found here.

  2. Darkamber says:

    Reblogged this on Fire and Ink and commented:
    There is this baffling phenomenon of hate against Loki and His followers in the USA.
    Seems to me that too many heathens haven’t been able to let go of the Christian dichotomy of good and evil. There just *has* to be a “bad guy”, and Loki got the role…

    Galina Krasskova encourages people to dedicate the month of July to Loki. An offering a day.

  3. esaja says:

    i guess i dont have to understand this banning thing. *shakes head*
    but i love the idea of an honor month for Loki. and the timing with july just comes in handy. i’m definitely going to participate.

  4. thedaretojourney says:

    Hmmm…that is very weird. An organization trying to ban the worship of Loki? What the hell are these people thinking? See, this is what happens sometimes when you give people an inch, they take miles and miles. It is highly presumptuous, and more, intolerant, to want to do this. I don’t see how it even makes sense. Worship who want and let everyone else do the same. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

