Charles Juliet quotes

I feel inclined to deepen my relationship to the Spirits once again, and I think it is highly time that I find a personal way to honor our Ancestors and particularly “poet-heroes”. Thank you to Sannion and Ryan for helping me construct my own landmarks in this “tradition”, to make it my own. It’s been week since I met Ryan, and I can’t stop thinking about how shameful it is that I don’t honor my intellectual and literary side. Our conversations were fruitful and reminiscent of my past… as a few of my friends know, it weirdly seems that I let my inner self and flame die. So I may not have the time to re-read all the stuff I forgot, and take thousands and thousands of quotes down, but I can begin to do it again. And some of them are really interesting, I feel like sharing them (all the more so since Ryan might be curious about some French writers ;))

Charles Juliet is not a very well known author because he was from a farming background, and started reading very late – let alone be a writer ! And yet he did…  Here are some quotes from his journals :

“Déterrer cet être enfoui en mon origine et que certaines circonstances avaient failli étouffer avant même qu’il ne naisse (…) Il faut en effet beaucoup de courage et d’énergie pour descendre en soir affronter sa nuit et ce qu’elle recèle, trancher ce qui doit l’être, et après un long de détresse, consentir à passer par la mort. Cette détermination, ce besoin résolu de me détruire pour me laisser reconstruire par mon désir d’accéder à une vie plus riche, plus vaste, plus consciente….” (Lumières d’automne, 1993)

“Freud dit que le créateur est toujours un exilé, soit étranger à la cité, soit étranger de l’intérieur (…) décentré de son identité” [He quotes a French Journalist and then comments:] étranger à la ville (…) errances par les rues (…) sourd et aveugle à ce qui constituait la vie de la cité. Etranger de l’intérieur (…) quand on est porté par une passion qui n’est pas partagée, quand on vit et pense selon des valeurs autres que celles qui prévalent dans la société, comment ne pas être acculé au retrait, à la solitude ? (…) Il est tout aussi exact que j’étais décentré de mon identité. Car je ne pouvais vivre ouvertement en fonction de ce besoin d’écrire qui fondait ma vie. En présence d’autrui il fallait que je parle et existe à côté de ce que j’étais profondément. D’où un constant malaise.

[He then quotes Rimbaud:] “Je est un autre.”

(Lumières d’automne, 1993)

3 comments on “Charles Juliet quotes

  1. Ryan says:

    Fantastic quotes! It was great chatting about literature in Paris, and I am of course very interested in reading more about your Poet-Heroes!

    • I struggle with time obviously… still have a huge draft about our encounter at le Père Lachaise ! But I definitely want to try to put my ancestor/poet-heroe worship in order ! Need to figure out what to do exactly… but still. Some quotes are a good start I think. I also may indulge into some great reflections (look at the “sacredness of time” article to get an idea) about the whole thing. Need to re-read your blog too😉

      • Ryan says:

        Feel free to email me any time! I also started a write-up on our Père Lachaise visit than I need to get back to when I have more energy . . .

Leave a Reply

