Obsessed

I just come here to drop by a word and salute my distant friends that will smile at this short meditation.

I think I’m just becoming completely obsessed. As some know, I’m a researcher in English literature. Two years ago I worked on ultra contemporary US literature and yet my whole dissertation was based on greek theater and tragedy. My focus is on the weird notion of “voice” in written texts, and I keep coming back to the Greeks. It’s haunting me. The year is going to start in october but I have to start working now because I’ll be away, and I’ve been back to the dear Virginia Woolf. I’ve chosen to work on the great but painful The Waves, and I’ve starting reading and thinking again… What is her theory about voices ? This book is such a symphony, what purpose do voices serve ? I’m reading a short introduction in my book which sums up her theory about identity, the ambiguity of being both changing and continuons, the multiple facets of personality… and now all I can think is my previous dissertation again ! Dionysos, greek theater, the chorus of voices, the masks… I took back my notes from yesterday and it’s all about mascarade, Harlequin and Columbine, mascarade vs symphony… and death. And my fucking initiation, and orphism : self and false self, masks, death and rebirth… Gosh, The Waves is about the taboo of someone’s death after all, and a sort of funeral hymn that the characters’ voices build.

What the hell ? Well, I need to check if it’s been already written, her link to the antique sources, because there is just too much written about her work. But if I can’t think of anything else when I study those themes, why fight ? After all, that would be funny if I have to explain my teachers that Harlequin is actually an old pagan figures of the Underworld, that it is linked to Dionysos and initiation, that theater and mascarades are about the Self and … and … and….

One comment on “Obsessed

  1. Welcome to my world. Muahahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

