Headspace Sacrifice

An interesting offering practice. I often dedicate a bite or a sip of my food/drinks to the Powers, but I never actually thought of the lack of sense as a proof of their receiving the offering.

From the Labyrinth

I am a big fan of the bauhaus approach to spirituality. That is to say, I don’t tend to go for elaborate ritual, instead preferring practices that can be done anywhere, at a moment’s notice. It is a matter of individual taste and style, true, but I get more out of being able to do significant if short devotional practices whenever I have the opportunity than I do out of a set schedule of more elaborate practices. One of my favorites is the headspace sacrifice.

I usually do this when I am eating or drinking something, especially if it is tasty. It requires a trance state, particularly a low level spirit-awareness, but it’s something I can manage to do even in the middle of a busy workday. The procedure is simple: before taking a bite or a sip, I offer up a prayer to one of my gods or disir…

View original post 212 more words

Leave a Reply

